The Dalai Wawrinka, one-liners and Banff National Park

I received a warm welcome on an uncommonly cool day.  No, it wasn’t this weekend where the temps were around 100, the heat index 106 and the heat radiating up form the sunny tennis courts must have been even hotter.  I’ve found ice cubes in the ears really helps.  But enough about the weather, it was a  a great weekend.  My 40+ tennis team advanced to Sectionals – thank you captain Neil Rutman and my wonderful teammates for pulling together when we needed it most.  The 18+ team that I captain also advanced to Sectionals this coming weekend August 19-21 in Princeton, NJ.  Woot Woot!!  #YesWeCan

warwrinka tattoI love The tattooed words of Irish poet Samuel Beckett that snake down the inside of Stanislas Wawrinka’s left forearm.  It reads: ”Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better.”  This is awesome and something I need to remind myself of daily.  Now if I could just hit the one-handed backhand like Stan the Man.
peanut doughnutPeanut doughnut – adding this to my list of the greatest snack food ev’va – up there with Choco Taco’s, Reses Peanut Butter cups and Oreo Blizzards.

I live life like my blood type, B+, life’s going to kick your butt form time to time grade_b_plus.0but the measure of the person is how you react.  Hold you head high and smile.  Nobody knows what your thinking and people tend to assume the very best.

Steven WrightContinuing on my recent comedy theme, I’ve been enjoying a number of terrific one-liners. You nay recall Henny Youngman, “take my wife, please” and Rodney Dangerfield, ““I could tell my parents hated me. My bath toys were a toaster and a radio.” My favorite is Steven Wright and here’s a few good ones:

  • “An escalator can never break, it can only become stairs. You should never see an ‘Escalator Temporarily Out Of Order’ sign, just ‘Escalator Temporarily Stairs. Sorry for the Convenience.’- Mitch Hedberg
  • “The Worst time to have a heart attack is during a game of charades” – Demetri Martin
  • “In Seattle, they have a saying, If you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes and shoot yourself in the face.” – Doug Benson
  • “I think it’s interesting that cologne rhymes with alone” – Doug Benson
  • “I think it’s wrong that only one company makes Monopoly”- Steven Wright
  • “I saw a bank that said ‘24 Hour Banking,’ but I don’t have that much time.” – Steven Wright

banff-national-park-moutnains-alberta-canada.ngsversion.1462309175552.adapt.1900.1This is Moraine Lake in Banff National Park which is about 60 miles from Calgary.  Thank you Jon Rubinstein for making me aware of it.  Google it – the most beautiful pictures I’ve ever seen. Reflection of mountains and trees in a lake, Lake Johnson, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada

Leave a Reply

